Newest Project (thanks to my amazing husband!)

I love updating my house. Adding new charming decor pieces, adding more storage, making things more organized and functional. Everything and anything I can think!

There’s been one thing that has driven me crazy about my house. This strange knook. Since the moment we moved in, I knew I had to do something with it, but wasn’t sure exactly what. I came up with a million different ideas of what to do or how it could be functional. 

It’s only about 12″ deep (about the depth of a bookcase) and 43″ tall. 

I searched high and low for bookcase that would fit. All were too tall, too short, too deep, couldn’t find multiple of the same size and color. It felt like Goldilocks and the Three Bears. I thought about having a cabinet maker custom make a built in cabinet. But that was way too expensive. 

Then one day, while doing school work with Gabriella at the dining room table, it hit me. Let’s put a desk here!

I got to measuring, drawing diagrams, and looking for desks. No desk would fit the length. It would leave awkward spaces that no shelves would fill. Ugh. Back to square one. Until… LIGHTBULB! Let’s make a desk!

A standard desk and table is 30″ high, so I had to find something that was that size or a little shorter than that. I found bookcases for $60 or more. I needed two to make my vision work. I couldn’t justify spending that much. So, I kept looking. After looking and looking, I found two of the same bookcases on a garage sale site for $10 a piece! They were the right height, color (matched the bookcase I already have in the dining room!), and price! We jumped on them fast!

We got to work!

We put the two bookcases on the end of the knook. Love having more storage! Hubby cut a piece of wood to fit and painted it white. In the picture, you can see him adding a bracket to give the “desk” added support. 

Done!!


We need to get a chair for the desk, but other than that, it’s exactly what we wanted!

Leave a Reply

