31 Days Challenge – Day 18

Day 18 – Meaning behind my blog name

Anchor Mom. 

Why did I name my blog that? I could say how I love anchors and everything nautical. I could also say how I have an anchor tattoo on my ankle. But it’s so much more than that. 

Hebrews 6:19 says: 

This hope we have as an anchor of the soul, a hope both sure and steadfast.”

This is my favorite bible verse. To me, it’s about having hope in our anchor Jesus that he died for our sins and we’ll be welcomed into the Kingdom of God one day, and live for enternity. 

Just like a boat needs an anchor to keep steady, not drift off course, hit something, and sink. We need Jesus for the same reasons. 

As does a household needs its own anchor. I feel, as a mother who’s blessed with the ability to stay home with my children, I’m that anchor. I keep our family steady I keep our family on course. I keep our family from sinking. In all aspects, from reaffirming our faith in everything we do to keeping with our busy schedules. I’m the anchor in our household. 

Yes, I do have a love for anchors, as well as anchor tattoo. I love anchors because of this verse. It’s one that has stuck with me all my life, through good and bad times. It’s kept me anchored in my faith. Now I carry it with me and am anchored in this life as a wife and mother. 

I’ve been asked, if I feel I’m the anchor keeping everything from sinking, what keeps me from sinking?? Answer is simple. The boat (my family) I’m keeping afloat. My faith in something so amazing. And love within my heart. It all works together to keep me from taking the boat down. Love anchors the soul… A love in my faith, in life, in my family, it anchors me. 

So, that’s why I call myself and my blog The Anchor Mom. It all leads back to Hebrews 6:19. 

Leave a Reply

